Six artists—including Nicole Eisenman and Ibrahim Mahama—shortlisted for Trafalgar Square's Fourth Plinth public art commission

The shortlist of artists for one of the world’s most famous public art commissions—the Fourth Plinth in Trafalgar Square—has been announced. The six artists invited to propose works for the next two winning commissions are: Nicole Eisenman (SHS 1983) , Samson Kambalu, Goshka Macuga, Ibrahim Mahama, Teresa Margolles and Paloma Varga Weisz.

The artists’ proposals will go on show at the National Gallery in London from late May to July, and can also be viewed online. The selection will also be put to public consultation. Both winning commissions will be announced this summer, and then be shown on the plinth in 2022 and 2024 respectively. Members of the Fourth Plinth commissioning group, who will select the winning entries, include the broadcaster Jon Snow and the artist Jeremy Deller.

Read more here